Showing posts with label Stuff I did with Friends. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Stuff I did with Friends. Show all posts

Riding the Roller Coaster with Marlboro Man

Oh, it’s been so long since I’ve blogged. My emotions have been riding this roller coaster, which is mostly engineered of twisting downhill turns and long plunging dives. These past few weeks have been a rackety ride with double dips and zero-g rolls. I didn’t want anyone buy a ticket to my mental ride. Refunds would have been requested.

I admit, a lot of my emotional turmoil could be attributed to PMS. Hating on my friends, exasperation with my family, no patience with work or the commute or the stupidity of life. Well, I’ve bled and I’m feeling better. Better, but still sad.

We lost J.

John Garino- musician, researcher, Big Bottom, grizzly bear, Indian Food lover, Groomsman, Guinness drinker, bucket-game player, doctoral student and good friend- passed away February 13th. It was already a sad day because it was my Mom’s first birthday in Heaven. J went to sleep on Thursday and never woke up.

No one got to say good-bye.

Being friends with J was like being in an exclusive club that everyone belonged to. He always made you feel like you were the funniest, smartest, most talented person he knew. Yet he travelled in such wide circles of life making friends wherever he went. You could go a long time not talking to J but the next time you saw him was like coming home. You fell into such an easy patter with him because he was so easy to talk to.

He was the smartest person you never realized you knew.

The guy playing bass in a punk band. The guy at the bar having a little too much to drink. The guy smoking a butt covered with tattoos. The guy at the Yankee game yelling at the umpire. You wouldn’t think this guy would be as brilliant as J was. Getting first his BS in History, then his Master’s in Library Science while working IT at St. John's University. Deciding to pursue his PhD so he could teach. He was at home in the classroom as well as the stage. But did he show off his smarts? Was he obnoxious about how much he knew? Nope. Most people upon meeting J never realized how intelligent he was. Sure, he would debate baseball, religion, music and politics with you. But you never came out of an argument mad or exasperated at him. He would show up at your door with home-brewed beer or his mom's Irish Soda Bread and never looked for praise. He was unassuming to a fault.

There’s a special place in my heart for J. He was practically the only one of MR’s friends I met when I first started going with MR that didn’t make me feel uncomfortable because I had two kids. He made me feel at home with the guys (we were on the dart team) and when he came out to the beach house, he played endlessly with the kids- humoring them in their made up games. He coined the persona I use to this day- Mamasoo, bad spelling and all, because I was the one with the kids. And it never bothered him like it bothered so many of MR’s other friends and family members. I will always be grateful to him for that.

It’s hard to accept that he’s gone from our lives. What will happen to Norman Bates and the Showerheads? I listen to his “Rock of J Bralter” CD over and over, appreciating more and more what a great musician he was.

Yes, my life is dimmer now that he’s not here. But living “The J-way”by accepting everyone (faults and all), living life to it’s fullest and learning new things will definitely make my life brighter. It’ll be hard, but I’m really going to try. I wonder if Guinness helps?


Rest in Heavenly Peace, J. You'll be missed.

Glittery Stuff

Hi Interwebs friends! Long time no see... or type. This is so hard trying to post from home. Like I have nothing else to do. Add posting on my blog to the list of crap I have to do but never find the time to finish. Like this weekend. We had great big plans for completing tons of stuff this weekend. And what happened? We all got sick. Zombiegirl and MR came down with H1N1, Z-girl on Thursday and MR right behind her on Saturday. I had a sobbing migraine- one that left me crying like a baby- make it go away- all Sunday morning. And I got my period Saturday. All these ingredients make for a lost weekend sitting in front of the TV with everyone feeling sorry for themselves.

This probably explains why I was bitchy to a dear friend last night.

As some of you know, Zombiegirl's travel team is trying to raise some cash for tournaments and training. I had the bright (?) idea of getting the girls together weekly and making things for the upcoming Holiday Fair at St. Andrew's. It's been working out pretty well- the team is bonding as friends, they're doing crafts, which they love to do, and we might actually make a little money to put into the team account. So last night we're making fleece hats. They came out adorable!(Come and buy one on the 22nd...) Amanda and I are talking while I'm fixing last week's craft and she's gluing crosses for God's Eyes.

Amanda is reading Twilight by Stephanie Meyer.

I saw red. I hate all things Twilight.

Amanda was excited- she's not a reader, but she's reading the book on the recommendation of one of her friends, and she's really into it. She likes the love story and claims it's hot. She's not alone in this opinion. Search "Cullen" in Google and you'll get all sorts of gushy websites devoted to Edward. Teenage girls and grown women are wetting their pants for vampires who get all glittery.

I want to throw up.

I'll start my rant by saying I did read Twilight. It was a vampire book, so of course I've read it. I've been reading vampire books since Interview with the Vampire by Anne Rice twelve years ago. Vamps have become very popular in the last few years. Vampire as lover has always been a theme or trait in books and movies. If you're a vampire, you NEED to get close to your victim in order to suck their blood. So what better was than to seduce them? But vampires as Harlequin romance books rubs me the wrong way.

Vampires aren't glittery. They're dead. Dead don't glitter.

That's not the only problem I had with Mrs. Meyer's book. I thought her writing was immature and a little childish. Her dialogue is stilted. Her characters are shallow and not developed. I thought to myself more than once- get to the point already!- while I was reading it. I had already started with Twilight while her next two books were already out. And I have been told that her writing matures as the books go on. But I've also been told that she's introduced the age old struggle between werewolves and vampires. Gee. Where have I read that before? Only Laurell K. Hamilton's books, and the Black Dagger Brotherhood books. I'm sure I'm missing a few, too.

I know these were meant to be teen novels, and I really don't begrudge Mrs. Meyer her success. I think I expected more with all the hype, and I just think there's SO much better out there. I feel if you're going to write a love story using vampires, you better have some nasty killing going on. Not races through the woods and sparkly love scenes. But then- to each his own. I like blood with my vampires. Amanda doesn't. And for that, I owe her an apology for getting all bitchy on her. Sorry, sweetie. Didn't mean to spoil your fun with fiction!

Don't mind me. I'm grumpy. Again.

NaBloPoMo #20- Dance with me

I took advantage of being sick today. I caught that stomach virus Zombiegirl had yesterday. I stayed in bed all day today and made tutus. We have a craft fair out in the Hamptons on Saturday, and of course I have nothing to sell. So I figured I would test the tutus to see if they would be popular for future craft shows. I spent about $40 on all the tulle, and I figured I could get 15 or more tutus made. I have 4 sizes- from infant to 7/8 year old. All different colors and patterns. They look so cute all together!

I started making these on the way up to Little Pond. I made three by the time we got there. The next morning, I pulled them out and started making more. In a bit, I had an audience. All the girls and some of my mom friends all had an opinion on the color sequences and eventually, every girl asked if they could have one. Even one of the boys wanted one (and I'm not telling which one!) Really, they're so easy, I said, that the girls could make their own. They were excited and started putting in their color orders. And deciding what they would wear with their tutus! I think I found this year's Christmas gifts!

While we're packing up the campsite to come home, all the kids made friends with the little beauty that moved into Jodi's site (the G's left a day early.) Little Eve is sixteen months old. She followed the big kids around up and down the road, under the watchful eye of her mom, of course. Zombiegirl, Suze and Kedalls all ran over to me and asked if Eve could have a tutu. If they were expensive, or hard to make, I would have said no. But I figured she would be a great test to see if it was the right size and all.

When the girls gave the tutu to her mom, Eve came running over and pointed to it and smiled! Wow. Pretty must be an inherent trait in girls! Mom put it on Eve, and the face! That face made every one of those kids smile! And it fit! It was definitely another good moment. I was so proud of the girls for thinking of someone other than themselves.

So thanks, Eve, for being my tiny dancer. And thanks to my daughter and her wonderful friends for being so kind. Ten year olds doing random acts of kindness- makes you hopeful for the future.

NaBloPoMo #19- I Have Moments.

In case you haven't realized, I'm a crabby person. I complain constantly. I gripe, moan and bitch. I rarely see the positive and focus way too much on the negative. These are all reasons I started this blog, however. To try to get things out of my head and help me improve myself.

I do have moments of pure joy and happiness. No, really. I do. In fact this past week, I've experienced several. Walking in the city (on a Wednesday- Polyester Day- gasp!) after work last week. Instead of going down through Rockefeller Center to the F train, I had to mail a letter, so I exited at the street. I got caught up in a crowd of people (tourists!) who were just walking and laughing. Two of the girls were in totally wacky clothes. I was in the middle of this crowd and my heart swelled. I was like the Grinch, holding up all those presents, when his heart grew three times larger. I laughed to myself, walked another block with these people, and went underground. I was in a good mood the rest of the night.

Also last week, walking to the train station, listening to the Allman Brothers singing "Little Martha." I passed under a tree just as the wind blew and little droplets of rain scattered all around me. Listening to that song (even though it's a sad song) and experiencing those little raindrops and the wind in the trees gave me goosebumps. And my heart swelled again.

Sitting around a campfire, having kids jump at the chance to burn marshmallows for your s'more and talking with good friends is a definite good moment. Having all those people waiting and trying to help you down the hiking hill because you lost your balance, grabbed a tree and stepped on a loose stone and was laughing so hard you couldn't move was a definite good moment. Having your mom friends stick by you while you were choking (okay- that wasn't a good time) and then have the little ones come up to you to check to see if you were okay was a definite good moment. Eating awesome food cooked over an open fire on your new camp plate and the Drink of the Day refilled for you several times without even asking was a good moment. And every time I had a good moment, I thanked God for them. They're precious- they don't come along often. But when they do, I totally appreciate them.

Sorry if this post seems a little off. I don't think I did my moments justice. I'm still really tired- Zombiegirl is sick and I"m not feeling too hot myself. Give me awhile. I'll go back over it and try to clean it up.

NaBloPoMo #13- Camp Songs

I grew up going to Girl Scout camp. Mom was a leader, so I think I went even before I was the right age for the troop. I loved everything about camp- the Kaper charts (which I modeled our Soccer camp meals on,) the Saturday Night Hunch Munch (pasta and meat sauce,) the hikes- but I especially loved the bus ride to Camp Kaufman and back. That's when we sang songs. For hours. Much to the bus driver's dismay.

I loved those songs.

But I can only remember a handful.

And I taught the ones I could remember to the kids at our Soccer Camp trip last year. Now they're on my blog, so I will never forget them!

Like this one, complete with hand motions:
A boy and a girl in a little canoe
With the moon shining all around
And as he paddles his paddle
You couldn't even hear a sound
So they talked, and they talked
Till the moon grew dim
Said you better kiss me or get out and swim
So what you gonna do in a little canoe
With the moon shinin' all a
A boy paddli' all a
A girl swimmin' all around!
Oh yeah? (kiss kiss) oh yeah!

Then there's everyone's favorite repeat-after-me-song:
The other day, I met a bear
Up in the woods, oh way up there,
The other day, I met a bear
Up in the woods, oh way up there.
He said to me, why don't you run?
I see you ain't got any gun!
He said to me, why don't you run?
I see you ain't got any gun!
And so I ran away from there
And right behind me came that bear
And so I ran away from there
And right behind me came that bear.
Ahead of me there was a tree
A great big tree- Oh Lordy Me!
Ahead of me there was a tree
A great big tree- Oh Lordy Me!
The nearest branch was ten feet up
I'd have to jump and trust my luck.
The nearest branch was ten feet up
I'd have to jump and trust my luck.
And so I jumped into the air,
And missed that branch oh way up there!
And so I jumped into the air,
And missed that branch oh way up there!
Now don't you fret and don't you frown.
I caught that branch on the way back down.
Now don't you fret and don't you frown.
I caught that branch on the way back down.
That's all there is, there ain't no more
Unless I meet that bear once more.
That's all there is, there ain't no more
Unless I meet that bear once more.

I sing the first part and everyone else sings the second part. The kids love this! EVERY time I sing it I think of all the good times I had with Mom and the Girl Scouts.

I learned the next song at Girl Scout training. I went on an overnight with GS trainers to learn how to (again) become a certified Camp Leader. Now I can take Zombiegirl's troop camping out to Camp Blue Bay in East Hampton and not lose any of the kids or set them on fire.

It's another repeat-after-me song:
There was a great big moose!
He liked to drink a lot of juice.
There was a great big moose!
He liked to drink a lot of juice.
Singin' oh way oh
Way oh way oh way oh way oh
Way oh way oh
Way oh way oh way oh way oh
The moose's name was Fred.
He liked to drink his juice in bed.
The moose's name was Fred.
He liked to drink his juice in bed.Singin' oh way oh
Way oh way oh way oh way oh
Way oh way oh
Way oh way oh way oh way oh
He drank his juice with care,
but he spilled some in his hair.
He drank his juice with care,
but he spilled some in his hair.
Singin' oh way oh
Way oh way oh way oh way oh
Way oh way oh
Way oh way oh way oh way oh
Now he's a sticky moose
'Cause he's all covered in juice!
Singin' oh way oh
Way oh way oh way oh way oh
Way oh way oh
Way oh way oh way oh way oh
There's a sticky moooooose
There's a sticky mooooose
Full of juuuuuice
Full of juuuuuice
On the looooooose
On the loooooose!

And Zombiegirl is going to teach us a song she learned at 4H camp:
Hey, Hey, Bo Diddley Bop
I gotta get back to my block
with a pizza in my hand
I’m gonna be a pizza man
pizza man
I’m gonna be a pizza man

Hey, Hey, Bo Diddley Bop
I gotta get back to my block
with my car keys in my hand
I’m gonna drive my Chevy van
Chevy van, pizza man,
I’m gonna be a pizza man

Hey, Hey, Bo Diddley Bop
I gotta get back to my block
with a basketball in my hand
I’m gonna be like Michael Jordan
Michael Jordan, Chevy van, pizza man
I’m gonna be a pizza man

Hey, Hey, Bo Diddley Bop
I gotta get back to my block
with some noonchucks in my hand
I’m gonna be like Jackie Chan
Jackie Chan, Michael Jordan, Chevy van, pizza man
I’m gonna be a pizza man
I’m gonna be... a... piz... za... man !

Each verse gets louder until they're screaming the last verse. Lovely

Two more songs- The Princess Pat and Shark Attack, these kid's will be singing them all year long. They sing them in the car when they all get together, while they're hiking, at soccer practice and once they sang the bear song in Chorus! They all looked at each other and laughed!

Tell me this isn't the stuff memories are made of!

NaBloPoMo #12- Packing!

This is it! Tomorrow we leave for our 3rd Annual Soccer Family Camping Trip. We're going to the base of the Catskills, near Livingston Manor. Little Pond Campground is a DEC run campground. We have four campsites on the lake itself, and one (ours) across the road to form a shortcut to the bathroom. We're all looking forward to it (obviously the kids are) so that means that we all really get along!

Some shots of last years camping trip:
So we're off to commune with the wild, drink copious amounts of alcohol, tie dye shirts and fish. And hopefully stay dry. Our track record is not too good. Our truck is totally stuffed- we might have to leave Zombiegirl home. Just kidding.

NaBloPoMo#3- Lobster Roll Review

I've been going out to the Beach House for about 17-18 years now. At the beginning of the season it's always interesting to see what's popped up or what's been closed over the winter. One spring in 1999, this restaurant popped up almost exactly in front of the entrance to our little beach house community. Lobster Roll Northside is an extension of the famous Hampton's eatery known to the locals as "Lunch".

Ten years ago. And we just stopped in there this year.

Don't get out much, do we?

While Zombiegirl was at camp, MR and I had the whole week to ourselves. After a few days of "so, what do YOU want to do?" we decided to go out to eat. We ended up here since it was so close and we were hot and tired from the beach. Nestled in a little shopping area that includes such stores as the East End Candle Shop, The Teddybear Factory and The Gingerbread Shoppe (oh, so quaint! lol!) this family-friendly restaurant is pretty- there are two outdoor eating areas and the inside areas are airy and open. There's even a little playground for the kids. We requested seating in one of the outdoor areas where there are big blue umbrellas shading the tables.


We started off with beers. MR ordered a burger platter, and I ordered the Horseradish Crusted Salmon Special. Our waitress was great- very attentive. Food was good- the salmon was cooked perfectly. We noticed the Basket of Shrimp Appetizers and decided to take Zombiegirl here the day she got home from camp.

Fast forward to that day...

Zombiegirl, Rob, MR and myself go back to the Lobster Roll Northside. This is after we once again visit the LiV distillery. We again opt to sit outside, this time in the "tall" chairs. Rob and MR order beers and I order, on the waitresses recommendation, a "19th Hole"- vodka, lemonade and iced tea. I decide to support the local economy and ask if they serve LiV vodka. And they do.

Rob and MR get the burger platter (real original, these two!) I order the Grilled Vegetable Wrap and Z-girl orders the Shrimp basket (no kidding!) She also orders the Seafood Nachos- a $15.oo appetizer special. My kid has expensive taste! We didn't mind, though- we missed her and I figured I could help out with the nachos.

Everything was good. I wouldn't go raving about the food, however. On the whole I think it was a little high priced for the quality of the food we got. My two vodka drinks (I switched to LiV vokda and lemonade since the iced tea they gave me in the first drink was nasty) came out to $9 each. Which would've been acceptable if they were both in the tall glass I got with the first drink. Since I took away the iced tea, the drink came in a glass half the size of the first drink. Go figure. So you're definitely paying for the ambience. And because it's situated on Sound Avenue, it's the perfect touristy type place to stop for a bite to eat on the way home from a trip to Greenport or the wineries. Soak the tourists, I always say! Will we go there again? Probably not. Been there, did that (finally) and wasn't really impressed.

Outta The Mouths of Babes

Jason and the kids came out to the beach house yesterday. I wasn't too keen on them coming out because it was supposed to rain all day. But they brought the sun with them. So maybe it's not the Corrado's that cause the rain every year when we camp. And that monsoon we experienced at Splish Splash. Mandy wasn't with them, so maybe it's her that causes it to rain. We've ruled out Jodi's clan- they didn't come to Splish Splash with us that year. And it's definitely not Ronnie- she organized the Splish Splash trip, but ended up not going, lucky her. So I think the rain has to be attributed to a little Espey, or Mandy. It just seems to rain every time we all get together. It even rained the night last week we PLANNED the camping trip. But yesterday, we ended up with a beautiful day and a fun time at the beach.

So I'm making dinner for the men and the kids, and JJ walks into the house and says, "Mrs. Soo- are you having a baby?"

Um. Excuse me? No, JJ. I'm fat.

"You're not fat, Mrs. Soo. You're having a baby."

No, JJ. I'm fat. Now get out of here. Go play. Somewhere. Anywhere. Me and my fat have to be alone.

I called the gym today and made an appointment with my personal trainer.

When Will I Learn?

My mother passed away from skin cancer. I've been very conscious of protecting my family and myself with sunscreen when on the soccer field or at the beach. Why, oh why, do I neglect my feet when applying sunscreen? We spent the day with the Corrado's at Robert Moses Beach today. I slathered the kids, MR and myself with 50 SPF! BUT I FORGOT MY FRIGGIN' FEET! I think I have 3rd degree burns on the tops of my feet. Will I be able to wear shoes tomorrow to work? I doubt it. Will my slippers look funny on the train?

On a funny note (and I know my sun burnt feet are pretty funny, but not to me...) we were driving in the scrub to the beach and passed a sign that said "Do not feed the deer." MR made a hunting reference, of course. Zombiegirl, from the back of the van piped out "I'll feed the deer- some bullets!"

We've created a monster.

My man Parker and how much I hate Dora the Explorer.

M and J dropped Parker off with us this morning so they could have some uninterrupted time with the doctor's office with JJ. My second babysitting gig in a week! Maybe I could make some money off this new profession, hmmm?

Parker is three, and is a totally awesome little dude. I say that because right now he's rockin' the house with his rendition of "We Will Rock You." He's the youngest of the three kids in that family and was born with a cleft palate. After all this kid has been through (surgeries, tubes) he hasn't lost his spirit and is in no way spoiled or hindered in any way. When he walked in to our house he had an ear to ear grin on- coming to visit us was a treat for him!

Wait- now he's singing "Eye of the Tiger"- complete with "nih.... nih nih nih.... nih nih naaaaaa"

OMG, what a little ham! MR is really loving having a little boy around. He took out all the toys in his backpack and went through them with the kid. They tried to color a picture for M for Mother's Day. They rode motorcycles on the couch. And waved to me when they passed by. My heart melts watching this kid. He's a little sponge that repeats everything you say, then brings it up later in the right context. He's a riot! And adorable.

And we have the TV on in the background, not that Parker's watching it. He's too busy exploring Zombiegirl's room and following MR around. So while I'm cleaning, I'm watching Dora the Explorer. I know it's a kid's show, and I know repetition is good for kids, but come on! This show really hits a nerve. I don't know what it is exactly- the talking Map, the talking Backpack or Swiper, the kleptomaniacal fox. Or Dora herself. I can just picture kids sitting on the floor watching this show with zombie eyes drooling on themselves. It's truly idiotic.

But then again, I watched HR Pufnstuf as a kid. Today that would give kids nightmares.

For Sale: One Yard, Slightly Mossy

We had a yard sale on Sunday. Palm Sunday. I was bad and didn't go to church. It was only the second time I missed a Palm Sunday. The first was when I was traveling to Hilton Head, SC. Ah. Hilton Head. sniff, sniff. Don't get upset, mamasoo! sniff. Don't even think about it. sniff!

Sorry- where was I? Oh. Yard sailing. Or is it sale-ing? Either way, we sailed through the sale. I had so much stuff to put out. Cleaning out mom's things, I knew I would be bringing more stuff into the house, so I tried to get rid of some of the extraneous things I had laying around. We had good weather, and good company- Soulspeak23, Ildi and their kitty, Ruddyna with her new car, and for awhile, Beena and her boyfriend John and MR. Some of my soccer moms and one very dear friend came by for moral support- not support for the yard sale, just support for the recent events in my life. Zombiegirl and her friends when crazy with the clothes- Zgirl tried on one of mom's fully fringed dresses, and declared herself an ape because it was "hairy". It was good to be outside and laughing.

Things sold. It wasn't really busy- we didn't have the regular traffic we usually get on my street. I made about $60 bucks, spent it on expensive pizza (never again, Gino's!) and Mr. Softee. But, we had a LOT of stuff left. Check it out what didn't sell...

Princess dresses. Am I really ever going get the party business going again? Probably not. I'm not into pampered, spoiled princesses bossing me and my staff around. And don't even get me started on their kids! So...out goes all the princess dresses. I'm cleaning them up, and putting them on either ebay or Craigslist. Out goes the tea sets. I am not doing kids parties ever again, unless it's my own kid's. And we all know she hates princesses. There. I said it. Out loud. No more parties. I have witnesses.

Why on earth did I keep my first wedding dress? I didn't keep my first husband, so why the dress? It got quite a few laughs at the yard sale, and comments about how thin I was. Whatever. I felt good in that dress at that time, and since then, I've had three kids. So, whatever. Out it goes. Donate to Savers.

The twelve Beefeater glasses MR finagled from our favorite Indian restaurant? Out.

The chocolate molds mom gave me years ago? The ones that I NEVER EVER USED because I hate working with chocolate? Out.

The Precious Moments I received while working in a Hallmark store so many years ago, and have been sitting under my desk for the last 18 years? Out! Ebay them, or pass them along to friends.

We're planning another yard sale in May. Cleaning up after this yard sale I found a ton of stuff I forgot to put out. I'll put the above-mentioned stuff out if it doesn't sell elsewhere. Since I now have more time on my hands, sniff, I'm going to be spending it on Ebay, Craigslist and Freecycle! Unless you want it...

Medieval Fun

Flashback time. MR and I took Zombiegirl and 3 of the soccer girls to the Medieval Festival in Sands Point Preserve a few weeks back. I was excited to see the knights- shining armor and all. I'm not sure what the girls expected.

When we arrived, much ado was going on at the King's Court. Knights were fighting, swords clashing against wooden shields, metal clanging against metal. The girls squeezed their way up to the ropes, and MR and I stayed in the back. We watched their expressions while the knights were fighting, and they were absolutely mesmerized!

The knights seem to take these battles very seriously. In fact, all the folks at the Medieval Festival take their roles seriously. I was watching a young girl dressed in a long gown watching from the actor's tent. She had a bottle of 21st century water in her hand. I thought- Aha! She's out of character! My surprise when she poured it into a metal tankard and drank.

After the battles, the King announced that each knight would do battle for a fair lady's hand. Each knight circled the meadow looking for a lady to defend. Since we were behind the girls, we were pointing and yelling that we had 4 beautiful girls here to pick from. Sir Adonis came over, and picked Zombiegirl! He led her to the king, where she sat with several other damsels while we cheered on her knight to win!

That's our fair maiden in the red hat...

Unfortunately, Sir Adonis was defeated. He claimed his lady, gave her a corsage, and led her back to her people.

The girls all agreed that he was "hot!"

We walked around the commons to sample the wares of the kingdom, and to partake in a few of the recreations. Hey! I'm getting into this! At one table, the girls tried on armor...





























After visiting the castle and having an ice cream break, we went over to see the jousting. Yes, they use real horses. Yes, they use real lances. Yes, they are really charging at each other. It was very cool when we discovered one of the knights participating in the joust was a woman- Lady Genevive. What a great role model for our young girls!













The jousting was awesome- the lances split apart when they crashed together!

The girls each got a piece to take home.

In the middle of the jousting, a commotion was going on by the King. The girls yelled that the King was hurt, and when we looked over, Sir Stephen had picked up the Queen and kidnapped her, running through the crowd.

They took the Queen to the castle, where the King's knights laid siege, and rescued her after a fierce battle. Huzzah!

No Festival is complete without purchasing swords for slaying dragons, or going into battle. The girls had a blast, and talked about it for days afterwards! They're looking forward to going back next year, and talking about which "princess" is going to have Sir Adonis defend her honor!
 

Copyright © 2009 Inner Pieces Designed by csstemplatesmarket

Converted to Blogger by BloggerThemes.Net